Leveraging the New Addiction

Addiction to sharing

“That would be a great Facebook status.” “Oh my gosh, I have to tweet that.” “I just liked your status.” “Tweet me!”

Chances are you’ve heard someone say something along these lines lately. I don’t think I would be crazy by saying it may have been you who said these things. Well, if so, you’re not alone.

According to an article by Kevin Allen titled “Desire to tweet stronger than the urge to smoke, drink,” a study conducted at the University of Chicago determined that the most popular social platforms are now a source of addiction for many people.

I was surprised at first, but as I thought about it more, I realized I might need to check myself into rehab because a day without Facebook or Twitter would be like a day without air. I’m kidding — kind of.

The truth is, these social platforms have become a part of our daily routines. When something exciting, depressing, interesting or surprising happens, many of us post it to our wall or tweet about it before calling loved ones to update them.

How nonprofits benefit

As sad/pathetic/disgraceful as this may be, it can also be beneficial for nonprofits. If you’re able to get people talking about you and mentioning your organization in a positive way, it’s free advertising for you.

Nonprofits need to figure out how they can become a part of the virus that is content sharing. Find a way to get your organization rolling off the virtual tongues of social media addicts. If you’re able to do something that elicits excitement, interest or surprise, you’re more likely to get your name out there. So start thinking about how you can get people talking!

Leave a Reply

